Treaties of Rome

Go down

Treaties of Rome

Post by jancancook on Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:21 am

The Treaties of Rome are two treaties that were both signed on 25 March 1957 by the same countries: Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany; referred to as The Six of European integration. They were the following:

1. The Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (the EAEC Treaty; often referred to as the Euratom Treaty)
2. The Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (the EEC Treaty; often referred to as the Treaty of Rome). This treaty was renamed Treaty establishing the European Community (the EC Treaty) in 1993 upon the entry into force of the Treaty of Maastricht (Treaty on European Union; TEU) in, and in 2009 renamed Treaty on the functioning of the European Union (TFEU) upon the entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon. While the Treaty of Maastricht amended what was the EEC Treaty in 1993, it was also the a founding treaty per se, thus joining the renamed EEC Treaty in comprising the constitutional basis of the European Union (EU).

They were the first international organisations to be based on supranationalism, after the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) established a few years prior.

The treaties came into force on 1 January 1958 and the EEC Treaty has been amended many times (see Treaties of the European Union).

student classroom posters
Free Verizon iPhone 4
Master of the Paranormal
Master of the Paranormal

Number of posts : 468
Age : 33
Location : Viet Nam
Registration date : 2011-02-15

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum